Park Acoustics 3 April 2011

6 Apr

The Voortrekker monument has been taken over by hippies, rockers, braaiers and musicians…

OK, in all fairness, it was only for a day, so please ATKV (or whoever instigates offence-taking petition e-mails) don’t get your granny-panties in a knot. Besides, everyone was well behaved and quite chilled.
Mind you, that has always been my take on Park Acoustics, even the events held at the botanical gardens. The people that go to Park Acoustics don’t go there to cause crap. They are there for The Music. Furthermore, it’s a family event.

On that note, allow me to get a bit more philosophical. What impressed me on Sunday, was the wide variety of people that attended. From the usual freaks (amongst which I count myself) that just love attending anything musical, rocking and awesome, through to young families, older (read “kinda ancient”) people and unsupervised teens. It makes my rocker-heart smile to see that ALL young people don’t like the dooshdoosh club crap. There’s an entire new generation of MUSIC lovers that are ready to take the world by storm, and in many ways, they already are…

The day was, as far as I could tell, a major success. I really enjoyed the fact that we could build a few fires and tan a few chops. There’s just something awesome about sharing a braai with long-haired, tattooed rockers on the one side and boerseuns in shorts and Mr Price T’s on the other, while basking in the glory of great music.

On the line-up for the day was Tim Burns, Toby Benko, Die Tuindwergies and Die Heuwels Fantasties.
Although I have to admit that I haven’t ever really heard of the first two, they did provide great background tunes while we were braaiing. As usual, Die Tuindwergies were great. Their songs always seem to take me to places in my mind that I haven’t been in a long time, but I like to be there.  What astounds me of these guys, is that every time I see them, they’re better.
After that, Die Heuwels Fantasties made sweet love to my eardrums. To see a band that is famed for being South Africa’s breakthrough electro-rock/pop act, they sure know how to  transgress the lines into a more live-acoustic vibe. Unfortunately, the rain decided that the show should end prematurely.
Or so we thought. For within 30 minutes the entire party was moved to a less rainy space (read: under roof). There were some sound issues (not gonna elaborate, but let’s just say it could’ve gone smoother), but this is where I raise my hand in an outstretched high5 to the dudes from Heuwels. Many “professional” entertainers would simply not bother to go to the trouble of adapting their show, and to do it in less than ideal circumstances and STILL put up a crowd pleasing, exciting acoustic performance, deserves to be met with the utmost respect. Heuwels, you guys EARN every single compliment you get.

Days like these don’t come cheap, and I for one am grateful to every sponsor (KWV, Wat Kyk Jy, and the rest I can’t remember now (oops)). But thank you guys, YOU keep real music alive and accessible. A special thank you to Wat Kyk Jy for giving me and Henno Kruger tickets to the experience, Griff, you rock!

All in all, it’s difficult to sum up an event like Park Acoustics. You have to be there.
So dear reader, next time, be there.

Check out these links:

All photo’s in this post courtesy of Alwyn Kruger

Leave a Reply

