I got Vectorized

25 Jun

Those of you who religiously stalk my Facebook and Twitter profiles, will have noticed that I have recently upgraded my profile pics to a a vector version of my real self. So for the two of you, this won’t be news. The rest of Planet Internet might need to be told about the above mentioned fact for the first time.

You might want to pop over to my Facebook and Twitter profiles to see what I am talking about. If you are reading this post in 2019, odds are that I look much different than I do now, in good old 2012. So just for you future dwellers, here’s the picture I’m ranting on about:

The Vector Version

The Original Photo

As you can see, I look much better in the edited version.

The lady responsible for creating this awesome artistic masterpiece (yes, it is one. I’m in it) is Chantelle Breedt. Here’s a bit more about her (just so that you know, and can later tell people at the braai all about my new avatar. Coz that’s what you generally would do. isn’t it?)

1. Who are you and what do you do for a living? 
Chantelle Breedt, I’m a graphic designer and freelance photographer and soon to be Digital Coordinator of Media in Africa. It’s a beautiful thing when a career and a passion come together and that’s how I feel about what I do.

2. Tell us a bit about your company…

Purple Chilli Design & Photography is my freelance business. Alisha Opperman works with me on some projects. We do any type of design (graphic that is) and photography that you might need. 

 
3. How long have you been designing?

Well I studied multimedia design for 3 years at T.U.T. in Pretoria where I got my National Diploma in 2009. Since then I’ve been designing everyday.

 
4. What programs do you use? 

Programs I use on a daily basis include Photoshop, InDesign, CorelDraw, Quark Express (the list goes on). For the vector illustrations I do, I use Illustrator (my favourite program, other than Photoshop).

 
5. What’s the stupidest thing someone has asked you regarding design etc?

Here’s Cantelle

“Why can’t you do it for me for free?” Uhm yeah, didn’t study for 3 years to work for free. It’s my job. I make a living out of what I do and if there’s nothing in it for me, I don’t do it. Do you work for free? 

 
6. Any advice for wannabe designers?

Make use of tutorials. They’re all over the web. that’s how you learn the finer tricks. And practice practice practice! I always use my friends as guinea pigs for my designs and photography.

 
7. Links to Chantelle and all her awesomeness

There you go, now you know more than you did 5 minutes ago, how cool is that?

Why not let Chantelle do something equally awesome for you? Or even as her some design related questions. She’s very nice, so I’m sure she’ll gladly provide you with some answers or links to useful tutorials.

One Response to “I got Vectorized”

  1. lexamantis 25 June 2012 at 20:34 #

    “Why can’t you do it for me for free?” Uhm yeah, didn’t study for 3 years to work for free. It’s my job. I make a living out of what I do and if there’s nothing in it for me, I don’t do it. Do you work for free? // LOVE that! People are always asking me for free advice too, and they get so shocked that I don’t just dish it out! Good on you for being truthful on this point!! #soosBaasDeBeer 🙂

Leave a Reply

