My First Comedy Set

27 Apr

I had a dream, that one day, I will stand on stage and make people laugh.

Baas de BeerNow, I’ve been MC’ing on-and-off for roughly the past 12 years, the last 3 of them professionally. Yet I have never ventured into the sphere of stand-up comedy. Reason for this being that, well, ummm… I actually had no real excuse. My only issue was that I was unsure about my own funniness, and as a (humble brag) really good MC it would have been really shit if I bombed out in comedy.

Arcade Empire (I’ve told you about their food in the past) has recently started the #KAKFunny Comedy Sessions. Every last  thursday of the month, they bring in a few of South Africa’s most awesome comedians, and one or 2 n00bs. On this night, I was the n00b.

For the first time in my life, I was actually nervous about getting on stage to talk to people. This was a weird feeling, considering I’ve had thousands of people in front of me at Oppikoppi and other festivals, I’ve presented events to everyone from old age homes to super-high end business people, and on a weekly basis I deal with a bunch of fun and drunk people who have to make sense of what I’m saying.

All in all, my first set went very well. I will forever be grateful to Nina Hastie (the organiser) for putting me on the bill, as well as the comedians who performed that night for giving me feedback and hi5’s (Jason Goliath, Nick Goliath, Donovan Goliath and Dusty Rich). Also a BIG thanx to Werner Cloete, one of my personal favourite SA comedians who came to support and upon request, crit the shit outta me.
Lastly, thanx to the friends who came to support me, and Henno Kruger for the full video.

Have look at a bit of what I did, drop me a comment to tell me how awesome I am, or if you think I suck. I’m easy.

3 Responses to “My First Comedy Set”

  1. BraaiBoy 29 April 2013 at 09:18 #

    Goeie Werk!
    Is baie spyt ek’t dit gemis… next time!

    • BaasDeBeer 29 April 2013 at 09:48 #

      Thanx BraaiBoy, sien uit na die volgende ene…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Comedy and Racism | BaasDeBeer's Blog - 21 May 2013

    […] mentioned in a previous post, I am expanding my horizons by venturing into the whole stand-up comedy experience. So far it has […]

Leave a Reply

