New tune by The Killers is not shit. Not at all.

24 Sep

In my random internet perusals, I stumbled upon the latest track by The Killers.
It’s called Shot At The Night and is off their upcoming Direct Hits Album which will be available November 12, 2013

KILLERS-DIRECT-HITSAs a non-avid fan of the Killers (greatly appreciative of their talent, but won’t sell my kidney to buy an album), I was intrigued enough to give it a good listen.

Initially, after the first few seconds, I thought this was going to be a steaming pile of shit. This annoyed me, seeing as the band’s previous hits like All these things I’ve done, Mr Brightside and Somebody Told Me etc are all quite enjoyable.
Then the music hit me.
I listened again. And again, and after the fourth listen to just make sure, I decided that yes, I like this song. It is a really good song. In fact, it is rather quite brilliant.

So I listened again.

Maybe it’s the strong 80’s vibe, maybe the faultless vocals or perhaps the strong progression. It might be the surging ebb and flow of the vocal harmonies integrating with the consistent stream of synthetic sounds… It could even be the not-so-subtle Queen-influence or a large variety of other subconscious emotional associations that caused me to love this song. Whatever it is, I love it.

Will I lose my shit and go bananas when this song comes on? Probably not.
Will I pump the volume when it’s playing? Most definitely.
Even though I would like to see The Killers going a bit more edgy, there’s no denying that they are indeed setting themselves up as one of the great bands of this era that will be remembered for ages to come.

Have a listen to Shot At The Night, and let me know what you think. Do you agree with me, or am I talking a load of rubbish?

 

2 Responses to “New tune by The Killers is not shit. Not at all.”

  1. kevin sanders 25 September 2013 at 10:14 #

    I agree it has a very big 80-90 pop influence and I wont be first in line to buy a copy of the album but you must give them credit for trying a new angle instead of going the electro of dub step route. It will definitely be added to my watch list and have a good listen to the album and maybe find even more tracks like this

    • BaasDeBeer 25 September 2013 at 15:31 #

      Indeed. I am quite keen to see what they will serve us with on the full album…

Leave a Reply

