A Knight out with the King: The Lectric Monks at Rafters

9 Nov

I recently figured out that there is only one of me on this planet. Shocking, I know, but it’s the truth.
This unfortunately means that -until teleportation becomes a reality- I can only be in one place at a time.The fact saddened me, but it also provided me with the ideal opportunity to involve some of my friends in my blog.

Michael King and Charné Fourie are two passionate, interesting and talented young people, who I am glad to have on my team. Charné takes pictures and Michael charms ladies. He also writes words.
Without further ado, for the first time on Baas de Beer’s Blog: A Knight out with the King!


 “Well, technically, we’re only two weeks old” is not what I expected to hear when I asked Gary Peacock, vocalist for The ‘Lectric Monks, when they started the band.

The Lectric Monks [Photo by Charné Fourie]

We arrived at Rafters hoping to see whether Die Heuwels Fantasties could still kick it like in the old days. Needless to say, we were kinda sceptical about the opening band, since we had never heard of them before.

After getting our first round of drinks and a table close to the stage, we watched this eclectic group of musicians shuffle out of the VIP area, expecting them to be just another small-fish-big-pond opening band. We were completely mistaken.

As soon as the first chord of Aloe Blacc’s “I Need a Dollar” rang through Rafters, we knew we were in for a treat. Every person who had been laughing and talking, ignoring what was unfolding on stage, turned around, awe-struck at what they were hearing. It quickly became clear that these guys were no run of the mill garage band.

By the end of their rendition of “Skulduggery”, it was as though we were being lured to the front by Sirens. The crowd (us included) got up from their tables in the dark reaches of the venue and sauntered to the stage, getting ready to rock out to this new found gem.

The Lectric Monks [Photo by Charné Fourie]The passion reflected in the vocals and lyrics of every song made me turn nostalgic for a band that I did not know and had me singing along to words that I had never heard before. “Hustle, bustle, rustle” echoing through Rafters as existing fans and new converts joined forces to reciprocate the joy that The Monks were exuding from the stage. The masterful use of guitar, violin, harmonica (and even a tambourine) melded together to form a familiar Modern Folk sound, reminiscent of Mumford & Sons, the early days.

Looking around, I saw some so young that I had to question whether they were even allowed to be out past 20:00, and others, around the same age as my own parents, all bobbing their heads or jumping around in appreciation of these five amazing people who had come together to create a sound that I believe South Africans (young and old) will come to appreciate as part of the new wave of local music.

When the set was declared over, the “encore” chant resounded around the venue, with people anxiously standing on their toes to see whether the band would return to the stage. Alas, they did not grace us with their return, since it was time for the main act of the evening. I can, however, safely say that this is not the last that we will hear of The ‘Lectric Monks and that I personally look forward to seeing them at OppiKoppi 2015 with a whole new set of songs.

IMG_9115Members:
Francois (vocals, rhythm guitar)
Gary (vocals, harmonica, melodica)
Henk (lead guitar, vocals)
Liza (vocals, tambourine)
Robyn (violin)

Find them on-line:
www.facebook.com/Lectricmonks

If you wonder what they sound like, here’s some footage of the show I found on-line…


Well, there you go, what do you think? Not too shabby for a first time, hey? 
The fact that you are reading this, means that you probably made it through the post and agree with me that I freaking love my new contributors. 

Share this with your friends if you liked it, and your enemies if you didn’t. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “A Knight out with the King: The Lectric Monks at Rafters”

  1. Debbie 13 November 2014 at 20:30 #

    Very proud of my boy and the rest of the band members…. can’t wait to hear more

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bittereinder does Aandklas: A Knight out with the King | BaasDeBeer's Blog - 23 December 2014

    […] and run into friends that I haven’t seen in almost two years. All in all another magical Knight Out at Aandklas, with the soundtrack supplied by one of the Capital’s greatest […]

Leave a Reply

