You say tomato, I say Zomato…

23 Jun

Zomato Logo…and then I go to Zomato to see where I should go eat a tomato. Which by the way, is pronounced to-mah-to.

Years ago, I came up with the idea to start grading restaurants and venues. I had a whole elaborate plan, and system, and ideas… and not much else. Especially prominent was the lack of money, resources and time I had. Needless to say, my idea didn’t pan out. However the seed of interest in relevant venue rating was sown, which is why I am so glad I discovered Zomato.

Zomato is the world’s fastest growing restaurant discovery platform.You hear that, not a grading service, but discovery platform. Now, isn’t that what it should really be about. Not just saying this is kak or give it a thumbs-up. But to actively help you discover new eateries, new experiences, new friends.

Zomato BarPresent in 26 countries and active in over 10 000 cites, Zomato has turned that same idea that I had, into a social network, with the actual emphasis on social. The basic info is good (like the venue address, menus, photos etc), but what I really dig is the social angle. No longer is a newspaper review by some snob with a thing for too much garlic (even I have garlic limits) the way you judge a restaurant. You get proper peer reviews. You can even maintain a food diary, and share your experiences with friends.

Don’t have friends? Or don’t trust their opinions? Don’t worry, on Zomato you can follow foodies of your choice. Let them help you find the perfect eatery to cater for your culinary experimentation.

Zomato Girl with SpoonIs Zomato the best thing since sliced bread got cheese? Honestly, I am not sure yet, but I am eager to find out. I will endeavour to use this service, and see where it takes me.
Enough ranting about this by me, why don’t you check it out yourself?

And no, their logo is a spoon. A SPOON people!
Get your mind out of the gutter… Hehe!


If you are reading this, I take it you found the post readable enough to go through the entire thing. Maybe your friends will like it too? (Yes, this is a hint-hint-share moment).

Zomato Cover 02

One Response to “You say tomato, I say Zomato…”

  1. Phill Black 26 June 2015 at 12:15 #

    Great review/blog post. I ate it right up. I share the same opinion.🙂

Leave a Reply

